Quotes

February 5, 2008

cartier-bresson-hyeres.jpg

I’ve had a thing for Henri Cartier Bresson lately, and came across a Bresson quote that I like this morning on Jonathan Palmer’s blog and though I’d share.

sm_behindthegarestlazare_cartier-bresson.jpg

“Manufactured” or staged photography does not concern me . And if I make a judgement it can only be on a psychological or sociological level. There are those who take photographs arranged beforehand and those who go out and discover the image and seize it. -Henri Cartier Bresson

Here’s another:

“As photojournalists we supply information to a world that is overwhelmed with preoccupations and full of people who need the company of images….We pass judgment on what we see, and this involves an enormous responsibility.”

cartier-bresson.jpg

Who is this Bresson person? Cartier Bresson is generally considered to be one of the fathers of modern photojournalism, he is one of the founding members of the agency Magnum, and is responsible for the phrase (and book) “the decisive moment”.

bressonmatise.png

3 Responses to “Quotes”

  1. Rush Jagoe said

    jim, have you read The Minds Eye? It is pretty wonderful.

  2. It’s actually a nice and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you simply shared this useful information with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  3. After looking at a handful of the articles on your
    blog, I really like your technique of writing a blog.
    I bookmarked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back soon.
    Please check out my web site as well and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

